Current Books

Unexpected Heroes series:

All books are available in online retailers (click the banner above each book) and libraries (ask your librarian to order them). 🙂

Or if you want to try a sample first, they are available on ProlificWorks, MyBookCave, and StoryOrigin.

They are also available in regular paperback and large print from Amazon. If you want a signed copy, please contact me directly. (The latest book might not be available in paperback yet, but it will be.)

Wind of Choice (Unexpected Heroes, book 1)

Ahjin has always dreamed of being a skydancer like his parents, and his time has finally come. But what should be the best day of his life quickly becomes the worst when he is condemned to life as a priest instead.

The sixteen-year-old winged boy is left with only one chance to win back his freedom and his dreams. All he has to do is to find and rescue a kidnapped god from the clutches of something powerful enough to kidnap a god. How hard could it be?

But when the other three gods also disappear, the elements run amok, and there’s more at stake than Ahjin’s dreams. With the help of a spunky gilled islander, a desert explorer, and a shapeshifting healer, Ahjin races against disaster to save his shattering world.

Fly, dive, and run through this enchanted story, full of twists and turns and unexpected friendships.

Seed of War (Unexpected Heroes, book 2)

Saving the world from feuding gods made Ludik miss his wedding once before, so nothing will keep him from marrying his beloved this time.

…Except maybe a dead body.

The accidental death of a trespasser could break the peace between the shapeshifting kindreds of Darrendra. In a mad race to keep a misguided witness from sowing deadly rumors, Ludik must follow the trail through hostile territory and turn a fierce wolf into an ally.

But another death may shatter their fragile accord, and even with the help of his outkindred friends—a gilled translator, a fire mage, and the winged messenger of the Gods—Ludik might not be able to prevent war or escape his own execution.

Danger lurks among the trees, and even if he solves the clues, the cost might break his heart.