Reviews

I hope to eventually have too many reviews to post here, but in the meantime, here’s some from Amazon, Goodreads, and Reader’s Favorite to get you started.

Thanks!
Marty C. Lee

For Wind of Choice:

R. C.
5 stars
Adventure, magic, danger, humor!
January 27, 2019
I was privileged to read an advanced copy of this book, and…woah! Get those seat belts clicked into place and make sure your airbags are working, because it’s a fast and dangerous read! This magical action-adventure is written from the perspective of four characters, though the story is primarily Ahjin’s. Each character is superbly unique, and Lee writes their personalities incredibly well. They’re each from a different part of the world (sky, water, desert, fertile land) and thus have different abilities and ways of looking at problems–and problems there definitely are. Each area of the world has their own “god,” and when the gods begin to disappear, Ahjin and his newly found friends set off on a quest to find out why. Amidst a myriad of challenges, they fight giant scorpions, krakens from the deep sea, and worse. Somehow Lee manages to incorporate an appropriate amount of humor in the story, leaving the reader not just on the edge of the seat (because no seat belt is THAT strong) but laughing too. My praises for this new author! I’m excited for her to publish more books in this series.

northoakjr
4 stars
MC Lee is an author to watch.
January 31, 2019
Her writing is genuine and pulls you in. Rarely do you encounter indie debuts like this.

5 stars
Are you ready for adventure?
March 9, 2019
I purchased Wind of Choice and read the whole book in a few days. The first chapter completely drew me in. Ahjin was such a likable character and his problems were too big to imagine he could find a solution. After all, if a god wants you, it’s pretty hard to escape! Sometimes books with multiple-POV have one strong character and the others are weaker. In this case, each character is unique and plays an integral part in the story.
Ahjin is the lead POV and he is desperate for a solution. He is also a practical joker which lightens his character from being so driven. Nia is fun and bubbly, appropriate since she lives under the water and on an island. Ludik ‘s arm is twisted to get him to go on the adventure, so even though he seems grumpy at first, I don’t blame him. He becomes a stalwart in the group of friends. Zefra is practical to an extreme, reflective of her desert habitat.
Their adventures are reminiscent of Lloyd Alexander, but in a modern vernacular, full of adventure and monsters. The pace is quick and keeps the reader wondering how everything can possibly work out. I highly recommend this book and I’ll keep watch for the next in the series.

Reviewed By Liz Konkel for Readers’ Favorite
(Edited for length. Original available at ReadersFavorite.com)
Wind of Choice by Marty C. Lee is the first book in the Unexpected Heroes series.
Marty C. Lee has breathed life into this extensive and magical world with four prominent societies representing earth, water, fire, and sky, each with its own unique types of people. Each of the societies are represented by a character who clearly showcases the customs and embodies the spirit. Lee crafts each character with specific appearances reflective of the elemental reminiscent society. Even certain phrases they use mimic the society they’re from. These phrases add a sweet charm to the dialogue … while also providing humor. Every place has its own god, beliefs, and way of life, with their own quirks, giving a well-rounded perspective of each. Everything in this world is so thorough you’re completely immersed.
The main four are … ordinary people who are led on an extraordinary mission…  [T]his grand and dangerous adventure also gives them a different perspective on their lives. Each of them finds their own hero’s journey while  discovering what it means to be a team, working together and bringing out the strengths of each of them.
Wind of Choice is a delightful adventure with heroism, friendship, humor, danger, and coming of age charm.

maria
5.0 out of 5 stars
Action packed adventure it unique heroes
April 19, 2019
Wind of Choice is an action packed adventure told from the view point of four uniquely voiced heroes. I loved the banter and humor that lightened the mood when the trials became intense. The main characters were relatable and three dimensional, and they went through real growth. I enjoyed how different each one was from the others. The author created vivid lands, and painted them with rich details in culture, history, geography–all expertly woven in with the action and dialog so as not to slow the story. The ending surprised me, in a good way. I’d recomend this book to anyone who enjoys a rousing adventure in a vivid world, with heroes you can cheer for and relate to.

Mpeel10
5.0 out of 5 stars
Gripping!
May 23, 2019
I know a book is good if I delay eating and sleep to know what happens in the next chapter, and the next, and the next…
This was a wonderful read. I grew to love the characters as though I knew them personally as they adventured along. I can’t wait until the release of the next book!

novelgirl (edited for length)
4.0 out of 5 stars
High fantasy, endearing characters, impossible quest!
May 30, 2019
I was pleasantly surprised with the depth of emotion this author instilled in her characters and their impossible quest to save their world from annihilation from some beef between their silly gods of their lands. I adored this story and because the plot has so many twists and highly charged turns, I couldn’t put it down.
I found these amazing creatures—some with wings for flying, gills or living underwater, sand dwellers, and shape-shifters—totally fascinating. They faced not just fantasy problems with mythical creatures and destructive gods, but having completely understandable and relatable “human” problems. Each character is uniquely drawn and wonderfully animated by the author. I could identify with their conflicts and root for them to meet and beat their unbelievable quest challenge. I grew to deeply care about them.
I would highly recommend Marty Lee’s book, Winds of Choice, to lovers of all things fantasy. I recommend this book to folks who don’t normally read fantasy but want to experience—through story—regular folks facing impossible odds and finding the courage to succeed.

Shauna on Goodreads (edited for length)
4 stars
June 11, 2019
The world-building is meticulous and fresh, and felt all throughout the story. The four teenage characters come from different realms revolving around wind, water, fire, and earth. Their personalities are vastly different and it’s fun to see them interact with each other.
Overall, this adventure story was a fun and unique fantasy. It didn’t feel at all like recycled versions of other stories and it wasn’t filled with cliches, which was really refreshing.

Virginia on Goodreads
5 stars
May 2, 2019
It was an excellent book about other peoples. I did not feel that it was a fantasy, but a story about real people who had real problems with very good characterization. Excellent language and grammar. Fun where it should be fun, sad where it should be sad. I didn’t like that it kept me awake at night, waiting to see what happened next. I didn’t like the sad spots, either, but it all turned out well in the end. Except that it ended, and I wanted it to keep going. I can’t wait for the sequel!

L.P. Tvorik on Goodreads
5 stars
March 16, 2019
I’ll go down the list of reasons this book really blew me away.
1. Marty C. Lee is an expert world builder. Within minutes of starting, I was completely immersed in the world she has created. Oftentimes with fantasy, I get the feeling that the world is being created around the characters as they move. Not so with this series. Lee’s characters stride through a world that is fully fleshed out, both geographically and temporally. There is history, culture, geography… everything is there. The best part is that it feels NATURAL. The exposition is so seamless you don’t even realize it’s happening. Each question is answered before the reader even thinks to ask it. Absolutely phenomenal.
2. The characters are very real. Adults can enjoy this book, chuckling as the characters struggle their way through very typical teenage problems (rebellion, homesickness, searching for meaning, confronting the real world, etc) while also battling fantastic forces on a magical journey. Teens and young adults can also enjoy this book, watching as their own woes are worked seamlessly into the story and confronted firmly but subtly. I never felt as if I was being preached at, but the messages are there.
3. The plot. Engaging. Fast paced. Clever. I never predicted what was going to happen next. Each development through me for a loop, and the ending was completely unexpected. This one will keep you on your toes.
Bottom line, this book is worth purchase and I’ll be first in line when the rest of the series is published as well.

Aelvana on Goodreads (edited for length)
5 stars
July 1, 2019
This was amazing fun. I love how the rather typical earth/air/fire/water split was reflected in the physiologies of its peoples: wings, water-dwellers, shapeshifters, and the desert dwellers. Frankly, with winged people and shapeshifters it’s pretty much pegged my interest right from the start.
It helps that the writing is strong, as well as funny. Ahjin is absolutely adamant that he wants nothing to do with “his” god, and as the story goes on it’s very clear why he’s holding that position. It’s also ironic that this deep distrust is what eventually wins him the trust of the other gods, who don’t like his god much better than he does.
Overall this is an excellent story and I’m so glad the first book mostly focuses on the winged people. I rate this book Highly Recommended.

Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars
Better than Expected!
September 3, 2019
I got a signed copy of the book at an event and wasn’t super sure what to expect because I’m not typically intrigued by YA fantasy literature. However, I was very pleased with this book! I started it and had a hard time putting it down once it was in my hands! I really enjoyed the character development, the plot twists, and everything in between. I’m looking forward to the next book in the series coming out!

For Seed of War:

From Kyle on Goodreads
4 stars
Sept 15, 2019
The world and characters in Seed of War are full of joy, mischevousness, love, and just plain fun. Yet this book deals with pain, guilt, anger, and hate. The narrative finds a happy medium, with the occassional bump in the road.
Most of the characters in this book are lively and well-defined. Every point-of-view has its purpose, and they are utilized well. Some main characters have quirks that are adorable and lovable, but a few of those quirks grate at one point or another. Nia and Ludik are the worst offenders in that case, but when the stakes get dire, those two are also the strongest characters to watch in their struggle.
The plot has twists and turns that pull the characters in deeper each time, and it gets better as it goes. Each pivotal moment expands the view of the world, which along with the characters is the real gem in this book. The narrow focus of this adventure brings a joy to the land of the Darrendrakar that comes from the author’s passion.
Some small pacing problems are mostly smoothed over by character banter, and even the small coincidences that push the story onward in places are met with a deeper look at lore, character, morality, or even the religions of this world. It is a book that takes on situations that, while fantasy, make the reader stop and think for a moment. And then take a moment to laugh and have fun afterward.
Marty C. Lee is an author worth watching as this series continues.